How to Restrict Templates and Kits in Altspace

Jimmy Zhang
3 min readSep 6, 2021

Sharing Templates and Kits with friends and groups in Altspace is one of the things that make this community so amazing. By default, if you unshare something, your friend or group can continue using it but they wouldn’t be able to create a new World with that Template or see the Kit in their World Editor. However, there are times when you want tighter restrictions — for example, if you’re sharing as part of your Patreon. Now, you can mark your Templates and Kits as “Restricted” to enable strict sharing checks.

Restricted Templates

To make a Template “restricted”, edit it on altvr.com, check “Restricted”, and click “Update”. Now when someone tries to create or update a World with this Template selected and the Template isn’t shared with them, they will see an error message like this:

To fix this error, they can choose another Template or ask the Template’s owner to share it with them again. In the meantime, people will still be able to enter the World. As the Template owner, you can change whether a Template is restricted at any time.

Restricted Kits

To make a Kit “restricted”, edit it on altvr.com, check “Restricted”, and click “Update”. Now when someone tries to create Object in a World from this Kit and the Kit isn’t shared with them, they will see an error message like this:

If they created the Object already in a World and they try to update it they will see an error message like this:

To fix this error, they can ask the Kit’s owner to share it with them again or delete the Object. In the meantime, people will still be able to see the Object in the World. As the Kit owner, you can change whether a Kit is restricted at any time.

FAQ

  • What happens if someone shares their World with someone else in order to “give” them my Template? This would be blocked when the target World is being created or updated.

--

--